Still image from the Video to “kaka schena”, LP “ein nie”, 2020

Current vinyl album by keit, a never
is available.

After the CD bidimetoloves from 1996 and various subsequent limited CD and streaming releases, the vinyl album will be released in summer 2020 a never. Again "very fine, dense, filigree, present - cellar, knotty, regressive, stubborn, sysiphic, mysteriously depressed, highly charged - but must not come out of its skin" (Joachim Rüsenberg, author, musician) and yet also satyr-like liberating: 

The unmistakable sound (beyond conventional genre assignments) by the Düsseldorf duo Klepsch and Grube; but this time more song-oriented, more consistent in the arrangements. The language, the singing ... to some extent gropes its way to the Dionysian origins of phonetic expression - to an onomatopoeic poetry, to something that cannot be known, but which can be experienced by everyone.

Each record comes with a lyrics booklet in DIN A 5 format.

 

Axel Grube: drums, electric bass, clavinet, vocals
Detlef Klepsch: e-guitar, a-guitar, banjo, vocals, harp, synthesizer, recorder

All compositions by Axel Grube and Detlef Klepsch
Recorded by keit in 2018-2019 at keit-Studio, Düsseldorf, Germany

Mastered by Kai Blankenberg, Skyline Tonfabrik, Düsseldorf, Germany
Scan + design: Detlef Klepsch
© 2020 / LC 57541

From now on here in the shop order.

The first album: bidimetoloves

All songs and compositions by Detlef Klepsch and Axel Grube.
First edition produced by Axel Grube, Düsseldorf, Germany. Published by -keit records in 1996

Detlef Klepsch:
E - and acoustic guitar, banjo, harp, fuzz organ, percussion, vocal, electronic toy

Axel Grube:
E - and double bass, prepared piano, drums, percussion, vocal, clavinet 

Karl Bruckmaier, Süddeutsche Zeitung, 1997

Harald Heusner, Superstar Magazine, 1998

Audio samples - bidimetoloves

 modal rex
 twaihotte
 won so much
 stybel
 cassie
 long neck

keit is a musical project that was initiated by Axel Grube, owner of Onomato Verlag, and Detlef Klepsch, musician and artist, in Düsseldorf, Germany, in the early 90s. The first CD, produced by Axel Grube, was released in 1996 on its own label with the title "bidimetoloves".
The musical collaboration has been maintained over the years and has resulted in various limited edition releases.
Since the 90s, in the course of further musical development, “keit” has moved stylistically away from Captain Beefheart and developed more and more forms of expression of its own. The singing made up of fantasy texts, the tracks based on improvisations, the arranging editing on the computer and the breaking up of traditional pop and rock song structures are characteristic of this.

Axel Grube did an internship at Conny Plank, was co-owner of a recording studio, published an LP in the early 90s with the title “mentocome” in collaboration with Rainer Rabowski (author and founder of the cassette label “Klar 80”) and has been the owner since 1998 of the Onomato publishing house in Düsseldorf.

Detlef Klepsch received his master class certificate from Professor Nam June Paik at the Düsseldorf Art Academy, and has been working as a freelance musician and artist since then. During his studies and afterwards he participated in several actions of the performance group "minus delta t" and was involved as a guest guitarist in their LP production "Opera Death". Since 2019 he has been co-director of the Neue Kunstraum (NKR) in Düsseldorf .

13,00  incl. VAT., excl. Shipping costs
10,00  incl. VAT., excl. Shipping costs
22,00  incl. VAT., excl. Shipping costs
10,00  incl. VAT., excl. Shipping costs

Rainer Rabowski, Author, friend of the house wrote:

“The cheerful getting lost, the happy finding ...
Two musicians from the area - perhaps more from the periphery - the D'dorf indie / music & art scene…. operate: speed
Founded at the beginning of the 90's as a “happy science” project, the band took a lot of time to find their peculiar way of working on the form in processes of loosening and detaching from given structures:
It is the snapshot, chance and agility of clairvoyance, the improper, surprising, impulsive moment; it is the roughened, the living, instantaneously without certainty, the open, non-deducible, unthinkable valid moment that seeks to give itself the new context of its fleetingness: the intuitive moment - it is already the right one.
- And samples, selected patterns from them, in their widely ramified condensation (possibly again) result in starting points, arrangements of this inauthenticity. - 26, innumerable ... these moments that cannot be told in any other way are present here. "

(...)

“... and here comes keit: There are sequences of mostly short units of rhythms and riffs, and their disintegration, there are melodies, songs, brittle, awkward, ironic approaches and again taken apart, over several arcs of tension of songs, concentrated moments of strength and straightness fragility still held together. What is noticeable is the balance, the sure feeling for the economy of the setting: a composition made up of parts that were spontaneously created elsewhere, each of which, however, retains a balance, lightness and always the optimal minimum of the instrumentation, and it actually exists ( even if only from guitar, bass, percussion, “vocals”) from an immense variety of voices.

What is needed is the ability to differentiate. Here the pieces are called “eggotisters”, “stiebel” and “wud eled”. In this way one avoids ascriptions and of course does not escape them. (Already being an orphaned suffix points to a certain half, a basic stem of a generalizable of desemantizations and ambiguity. In a restraint, possibly evasion from the obligation (also the “singing voices” practice themselves in a crypto or remotely reminiscent of Dada spoken language (the but here has left its demonstrative character behind: each vocal sound serves the “feeling tone” of the song), the pieces seek - they also use structural elements of the rock song and their citations - to evade the fluency of their formal level (their “ Codes ”, a“ language ”which in its attempt at verbal formulation cannot do without numerous parentheses).

Corresponding to this is a striving for precise, momentarily happy, valid finding (improvisation); it is one on a kind of heterogeneous edge of the preliminary of echoes and sound, diverse, isolated and branched out in lyrisms and atonal and moments of chaos-concretions; There is an attempted unfinished thing, something of “meta” but without “discourse”, in his ensembles a moment of intelligibility in perhaps an old predilection or an attachment that want to go back beyond their level of knowledge: in the end it is actually a game again that tries to take their expressions in many signs in his operations, to forget something known in them, to regain a free space of the self-evident; there is something of the charm of the disparate, of fragments of incompatibility, which can suddenly soar to their highest notes, to the extent of their collapse with the context: unrecognizable enough small transformations, between-line interlinear versions ... and everything actually remains very simple.

And this strength, your momentary success, is then sometimes this weakness: the music, in a successful balance on its level, he / she also defines its own discipline - an open outcome, he predicts himself. So even when the questionable has, as it were, gone through their faculties, the certainties are found again, they now touch the carelessness of their comprehension, that and how every idea is already their different apprehension and do not extend far enough into what is actually not understood, to what any (advance) knowledge, everything desemantized always remains lost and actually becomes unspeakable. "

Short music and sound pieces

Some sound pieces and short pieces of music from von von's many years of work keit (Detlef Klepsch and Axel Grube) and mentocome (Rainer Rabowski and Axel Grube), which were used on some audio books from onomato Verlag.

Standbild aus dem Video zu „kaka schena“, LP „ein nie“, 2020

Aktuelles Vinyl-Album von keit, ein nie,
ist erhältlich.

Nach der CD bidimetoloves aus dem Jahr 1996 und diversen darauffolgenden limitierten CD- sowie Streaming-Veröffentlichungen erscheint zum Sommer 2020 das Vinyl-Album ein nie. Wieder „sehr fein, dicht, filigran, präsent – kellerig knöterig regressiv stur stammeltriebig sysiphisch geheimniskrämerisch gedrückt, hoch aufgeladen – darf aber nicht aus seiner Haut“ (Joachim Rüsenberg, Autor, Musiker) und doch auch satyrhaft befreiend: 

Der unverwechselbare Sound (jenseits herkömmlicher Genrezuweisungen) also des Düsseldorfer Duos Klepsch und Grube; aber diesmal Song-affiner orientiert, durchgängiger in den Arrangements. Die Sprache dabei, der Gesang … tastet sich gewissermassen zu den dionysischen Ursprüngen des lautlichen Ausdrucks vor – zu einer onomatopoetischen Lyrik, zu einem Unwissbaren, das aber für jeden erfahrbar ist.

Jeder Schallplatte liegt ein Lyrics-Heft im DIN A 5 Format bei.

 

Axel Grube: drums, e-bass, clavinet, vocals
Detlef Klepsch: e-guitar, a-guitar, banjo, vocals, harp, synthesizer, recorder

All compositions by Axel Grube and Detlef Klepsch
Recorded by keit in 2018-2019 at keit-Studio, Düsseldorf, Germany

Mastered by Kai Blankenberg, Skyline-Tonfabrik, Düsseldorf, Germany
Scan + Design: Detlef Klepsch
© keit 2020 / LC 57541

Ab Sofort hier im shop zu bestellen.

Das erste Album: bidimetoloves

All songs and compositions by Detlef Klepsch and Axel Grube.
First edition produced by Axel Grube, Düsseldorf, Germany. Published by -keit records in 1996

Detlef Klepsch:
E – and acoustic guitar, banjo, harp, fuzz organ, percussion, vocal, electronic toy

Axel Grube:
E – and double bass, prepared piano, drums, percussion, vocal, clavinet 

Karl Bruckmaier, Süddeutsche Zeitung, 1997

Harald Heusner, Superstar Magazin, 1998

Hörproben – bidimetoloves

 modal rex
 twaihotte
 won da so alei
 stiebel
 cassieb
 langer hals

keit ist ein musikalisches Projekt, das von Axel Grube, Inhaber des Onomato Verlags und Detlef Klepsch, Musiker und Künstler, Anfang der 90er Jahre in Düsseldorf, Deutschland, ins Leben gerufen wurde. Die erste CD, produziert von Axel Grube, erschien im Jahre 1996 auf eigenem Label mit dem Titel „bidimetoloves“.
In den Jahren bis heute wurde die musikalische Zusammenarbeit aufrechterhalten und hat zu verschiedenen in limitierter Auflage produzierten Veröffentlichungen geführt.
Seit den 90ern hat sich „keit“ im Zuge der weiteren musikalischen Entwicklung stilistisch von Captain Beefheart entfernt und sich mehr und mehr eigene Ausdrucksformen erarbeitet. Bezeichnend hierfür sind weiterhin der aus Fantasietexten bestehende Gesang,die auf Improvisationen basierenden Tracks, das arrangierende Editing am Computer und das Aufbrechen traditioneller Pop- und Rocksongstrukturen.

Axel Grube hat bei Conny Plank ein Praktikum absolviert, war Mitinhaber eines Tonstudios, hat Anfang der 90er Jahre eine LP mit dem Titel „mentocome“ in Zusammenarbeit mit Rainer Rabowski (Autor und Gründer des Cassetten-Labels „Klar 80“) veröffentlicht und ist seit 1998 Inhaber des Onomato Verlags in Düsseldorf.

Detlef Klepsch hat den Meisterschülerbrief bei Professor Nam June Paik an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf erhalten, ist seitdem als freiberuflicher Musiker und Künstler tätig. Während seines Studiums und danach hat er an mehreren Aktionen der Performance-Gruppe „minus delta t“ mitgewirkt und war als Gastgitarrist an deren LP-Produktion „Opera Death“ beteiligt.Seit 2019 ist er Co-Leiter des Neuen Kunstraum (NKR) in Düsseldorf.

13,00  inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
10,00  inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
22,00  inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
10,00  inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Rainer Rabowski, Autor, Freund des Hauses schrieb:

“Das heitere Verlorengehen, das glückliche Finden…
Zwei Musiker aus dem Umkreis – vielleicht eher der Peripherie – der D´dorfer Indie-/ Musik & KunstSzene…. betreiben: keit
Schon Anfang der 90´ger als Projekt der ´fröhlichen Wissenschaft´ gegründet, hat sich die Band viel Zeit gelassen, um in Prozessen der Lockerung und Loslösung von vorgegebenen Strukturen ihre eigen-artige Möglichkeit der Arbeit an der Form zu finden:
Es ist die Momentaufnahme, Zufall und Wendigkeit der Hellsicht, der uneigentliche , überraschende, impulsive Moment; es ist das Aufrauhte, Lebendige, augenblicklich ohne Gewißheit, der offene, nicht herleitbare, unausdenkbar gültige Moment, der sich den neuen Zusammenhang seiner Flüchtigkeit zu geben sucht: Der intuitive Moment – er ist schon der richtige.
– Und Samples, ausgelesene Muster daraus ergeben in ihren weit verzweigten Verdichtungen (möglicherweise erneut) Ausgangspunkte, Arrangements dieser Uneigentlichkeit. – 26, unauszählbare…… nicht anders erzählbare dieser Momente liegen hier vor.”

(…)

“… und hier kommt keit: Abfolgen meist kurzer Einheiten von Rhythmen und Riffs gibt es, und deren Zerfall, Melodien gibt es, Songs, sich spröde, ungelenk, ironisch sich gebende Ansätze und wieder auseinander genommene, über mehrere weiter aufgezogene Spannungsbögen von Songs, konzentrierte Momente aus Kraft und gerade noch zusammengehaltener Zerbrechlichkeit. Was auffällt, ist die Balance, das sichere Gespür für die Ökonomie der Setzungen: Eine Komposition aus dem Zusammen einmal anderswo spontan entstandener Teile, von denen jeder aber ein Gleichgewicht, Leichtigkeit und immer gerade das optimale Minimum der Instrumentierung behält, und die besteht tatsächlich (wenn auch nur aus Gitarre, Bass, Perkussion, “Gesang”) aus einem immensen Variantenreichtum der Stimmen.

Gefragt ist also wieder Unterscheidungsvermögen. Hier heißen die Stücke “eggotisters”, “stiebel” und “wud eled”. So meidet man Zuschreibungen und entkommt ihnen natürlich nicht. (Schon keit als verwaistes Suffix deutet auf ein gewisses Halbes, einen Grundstamm eines Verallgemeinerbaren von Entsemantierungen und Uneindeutigkeit. In einer Zurückhaltung, womöglich Ausflucht vor der Verbindlichkeit (auch die “Gesangsstimmen” üben sich in einer Krypto- oder fern ans Dada erinnernden Lautsprache (die aber hier ihren Demonstrativ-Charakter hinter sich gelassen hat: Jeder Stimmlaut dient wieder dem “Gefühlston” des Songs), suchen die Stücke- benutzen sie auch Strukturelemente des Rock-Songs und eben deren Zitationen – sich der Geläufigkeit ihrer Formalebene zu entziehen (ihres “Codes”, einer “Sprache”, die dann eben in ihrem Versuch der verbalen Formulierung ohne zahlreiche Parenthesen nicht auskommt).

Dem entspricht ein Bestreben des genauen, momentweise glückhaften, gültigen Findens (Improvisation); es ist eines an einer Art heterogener Rand des Vorläufigen von Anklängen und Sound, vielfältig, vereinzelt und verzweigt in Lyrismen und Atonalem und Momenten von Chaos-Konkretionen; Da ist ein versucht Unfertiges, etwas von “Meta” aber ohne “Diskurs”, in seinen Ensembles ein Moment von Intelligibilität in vielleicht einer alten Vorliebe oder einem Verhaftetsein, die hinter ihren Grad von Wissen zurückwollen: Es ist zuletzt tatsächlich wieder ein Spiel, das in vielen Zeichen in seinen Operationen ihre Ausdrücklichkeiten zu nehmen versucht, etwas in ihnen Gewußtes zu vergessen, einen Freiraum von Selbstverständlichkeit wieder zu gewinnen;da ist etwas vom Charme des Disparaten, aus Bruchstücken der Unvereinbarkeit, die sich unversehens aufschwingen können zu ihren höchsten Tönen, bis zum Grad ihres Kollabierens mit dem Zusammenhang: unkenntlich genug kleine Verwandlungen, Zwischen-Zeilen-Interlinear-Versionen… und alles bleibt eigentlich ganz einfach.

Und diese Stärke, ihr augenblickliches Gelingen, ist dann eben doch manchmal diese Schwäche: Die Musik, in einer gelungenen Balance auf ihrer Ebene, er/findet, definiert auch ihre eigene Disziplinierung – ein offener Ausgang, er sagt sich selbst voraus. So finden sich auch, wenn die Fraglichkeit gleichsam durch ihr Vermögen gegangen ist, die Gewißheiten wieder ein, sie streifen nunmehr die Leichtfertigkeit ihres Begreifens, daß und wie jede Idee schon ihr anderes Erfassen ist und reichen nicht weit genug ins tatsächlich Unverstandene hinaus, dahin wovon jegliches (Voraus)Wissen, alles Entsemantisierte immer auch verloren bleibt und tatsächlich unsagbar wird.”

Kurzmusiken und Klangstücke

Einige Klangstücke und Kurzmusiken aus der langjährigen Arbeit von von keit (Detlef Klepsch und Axel Grube) und mentocome (Rainer Rabowski und Axel Grube), die auf einigen Hörbüchern des onomato verlags Verwendung fanden.